+1(978)310-4246 credencewriters@gmail.com
  

Group 2/Employee Evaluation

In The Law of Health Care Administration, 9

th

Ed, read: Ch. 7 Liability of the Health Care Institution.

The Tracks We Leave Ethics and Management Dilemmas in Healthcare, 3

rd

Ed.: Ch. 8 Nurse Shortage: Metropolitan Community Hospital

Part 1: Critical Analysis of the Law

Evaluate and discuss the requirements of

one

of the following laws and how it applies in managing employees. What does a manager need to do or not do to comply with it?

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime provisions

Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave provisions

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Genetic Information Non-Discrimination Act (GINA)

Sexual Harassment

Evaluate

one

of the following tools for compliance in the evaluation and indicate how it would help limit risk. Discuss the pros and cons of it.

Employee evaluation checklist

Employee evaluation policies and procedures

Corrective action policies and checklists

Union clauses that impact employee evaluation, promotion, and appeal rights and impact how an employee was treated.

Part 2: Strategic Compliance with the Law

Evaluate the scenario in Ch. 8 Nursing Shortage: Metropolitan Community Hospital.

What are the legal risks? What are risks specific to staff negligence and liability?

What would management compliance tools (one) and processes (one) be incorporated in the organization to prevent this problem?

Assume there is a nursing shortage. What employee retention tools(one) and processes(one) would you incorporate to improve nursing retention and minimize the likelihood of a negligence lawsuit?

Week 10 and 11: Labor and Employment
Additional Resources
Hiring
•
•
•
•
•
•
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) Hiring: Hiring Practices Checklist
(Mar. 21, 2018) Hiring Policy and Procedures (shrm.org)
Onboarding Checklist for Physicians and Nurses (May 21, 2020)
https://verisys.com/onboarding-checklist-for-physicians-and-nurses/
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) Hiring Policy and Procedure
https://www.shrm.org/resourcesandtools/tools-andsamples/policies/pages/cms_001677.aspx
Legal Rights During the Hiring Process https://employment.findlaw.com/hiringprocess/legal-rights-during-the-hiringprocess.html#:~:text=Job%20applicants%20have%20legal%20rights,age%2C%20disabil
ity%2C%20or%20religion.
Prohibited Employment Policies/Practices https://www.eeoc.gov/prohibited-employmentpoliciespractices
5 Steps that can improve your facility’s EHR onboarding process (Sept 19,
2018) https://comphealth.com/resources/how-to-improve-ehr-onboarding-process/
Employee Evaluation
•
•
•
•
Employee Evaluation Checklist https://www.workforce.com/news/employee-evaluationchecklist
Performance appraisal form (Including supervisory skills) Completed Performance
Appraisal Form (shrm.org)
Progressive Discipline Policy https://www.shrm.org/resourcesandtools/tools-andsamples/policies/pages/progressivedisciplinepolicy.aspx
HHS Employers and Health Information in the Workplace
https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-individuals/employers-health-informationworkplace/index.html
Termination
•
Employee Termination Checklist: Everything you need to know Employee Termination
•
Checklist: Everything You Need to Know (upcounsel.com)
Employee Termination Checklist Employment Termination Checklist | Process Street
•
•
Older Workers Benefit Protection Act (OWBPA)
https://www.law.cornell.edu/wex/older_workers_benefit_protection_act_(owbpa)
Older Workers Benefit Protection Act (OWBPA) https://www.nolo.com/legalencyclopedia/free-books/employee-rights-book/chapter7-7.html
•
•
•
•
•
•
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) At-Will Employment
https://www.ncsl.org/research/labor-and-employment/at-will-employment-overview.aspx
Pearson, L. The Eight Steps to An Effective Employee Termination Policy. Missouri
Medicine. 2010 Jul-Aug, 107(4): 240-242 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/art
icles/PMC6188355/
Jackson LLP . When Can I Terminate an Employee at my Practice?

When Can I Terminate an Employee at my Practice?

Findlaw. Employee Rights after a Job Termination
https://employment.findlaw.com/losing-a-job/employee-rights-after-a-jobtermination.html
The Business Journals. 10 things to consider when terminating an employee
https://www.bizjournals.com/bizjournals/how-to/human-resources/2014/10/10-things-toconsider-when-terminating-an-employee.html
Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN)
https://www.dol.gov/general/topic/termination/plantclosings
Discrimination Laws
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Race/Color Discrimination https://www.eeoc.gov/racecolor-discrimination
Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) https://www.eeoc.gov/agediscrimination
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) https://www.eeoc.gov/disability-discrimination
Equal Pay Act https://www.eeoc.gov/equal-paycompensation-discrimination
National Origin Discrimination https://www.eeoc.gov/national-origin-discrimination
Religion Discrimination https://www.eeoc.gov/religious-discrimination
Sex Discrimination https://www.eeoc.gov/sex-based-discrimination
NCSL: Sexual Harassment https://www.ncsl.org/research/labor-and-employment/sexualharassment-in-the-workplace.aspx
Sexual Harassment https://www.eeoc.gov/sexual-harassment
Pregnancy Discrimination https://www.eeoc.gov/pregnancy-discrimination
Genetic Information Non-Discrimination Act (GINA) https://www.eeoc.gov/geneticinformation-discrimination
Bostock v. Clayton County Supreme Court Case
https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/19pdf/17-1618_hfci.pdf
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and overtime pay
•
•
Fair Labor Standards Act https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/flsa
Overtime Pay https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/overtime
Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
•
•
FMLA https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla
FMLA Forms FMLA: Forms | U.S. Department of Labor (dol.gov)
•
FMLA Fact Sheet FMLA: Fact Sheets | U.S. Department of Labor (dol.gov)Medical
Negligence Law
Medical Malpractice
•
•
•
Maryland Medical Malpractice law https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/marylandmedical-malpractice-laws.html
Pretrial Medical Malpractice Screening Panels: A State Law Guide
https://marcianolegal.com/2017/02/pretrial-medical-malpractice-screening-panels-a-statelaw-guide/
Medical Malpractice State Laws: Statutes of Limitations
https://www.alllaw.com/articles/nolo/medical-malpractice/state-laws-statuteslimitations.html
Risk Management Tools
•
•
•
•
•
Hughes, R Tools, and Strategies for Quality Improvement and Patient
Safety https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK2682/
Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP) List of Confused Drug Names
https://www.ismp.org/recommendations/confused-drug-names-list
Joint Commission Official “Do Not Use” List Do Not Use List | The Joint Commission
Joint Commission 2021 National Patient Safety Goals
https://www.jointcommission.org/standards/national-patient-safety-goals/
Checklists https://psnet.ahrq.gov/primer/checklists
Employment and Labor Contracts
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Employment Contract Provisions https://www.findlaw.com/smallbusiness/employmentlaw-and-human-resources/employment-contract-provisions.html
Arbitration Clauses in Employee Contracts. The National Law Review. (Feb. 27, 2020)
https://www.natlawreview.com/article/general-counsel-s-view-arbitration-clausesemployee-contracts
Employee Arbitration Agreements https://www.findlaw.com/employment/hiringprocess/employment-arbitration-agreements.html
Arbitration Clauses in Contracts https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/arbitrationclauses-contracts-32644.html
NLRB Collective Bargaining Rights Collective bargaining rights | National Labor
Relations Board (nlrb.gov)
NCSL At-Will Employment Overview At-Will Employment – Overview (ncsl.org)
MNA: The Concept of “Just Cause” in union contracts
https://www.massnurses.org/labor-action/labor-education-resources/grievances-101/justcause
Termination for Just Cause Sample Clauses
https://www.lawinsider.com/clause/termination-for-just-cause
Credentialing
•
•
•
•
Healthcare Provider Service Organization (HPSO) Staff Credentialing
Checklist https://www.hpso.com/risk-education/individuals/articles/Staff-CredentialingChecklist
Health Care Quality Improvement Act (HCQIA)
https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/resources/titleIv.jsp
Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Act (PSQIA) https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/forprofessionals/patient-safety/statute-and-rule/index.html
National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/index.jsp
National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) and union laws
•
•
•
•
•
National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) https://www.nlrb.gov/
Employer/Union Rights and Obligations https://www.nlrb.gov/about-nlrb/rights-weprotect/your-rights/employer-union-rights-and-obligations
National Labor Relations Act (NRLA) https://www.nlrb.gov/guidance/key-referencematerials/national-labor-relations-act
Right to Work Laws https://www.ncsl.org/research/labor-and-employment/right-to-worklaws-and-bills.aspx
What are Right to Work Laws? https://www.findlaw.com/employment/wages-andbenefits/what-are-right-to-work-laws.html
Employee Training Materials
•
•
•
HIPAA Training Materials Training Materials | HHS.gov
OSHA Hospital Safety Training https://www.oshatrain.org/pages/hospital_safety.html
CDC COVID-19 Training for health care professionals
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/training.html

Purchase answer to see full
attachment

  
error: Content is protected !!